Home Law DUI in Oklahoma City: Here’s what to know

DUI in Oklahoma City: Here’s what to know

by Paul Watson

Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol in Oklahoma can lead to severe penalties. Even for a first offense, you could face serious consequences. Your license would be revoked in most circumstances, and you must also pay a hefty fine besides potential jail time. Don’t let the prosecution win by assuming you can fight the case alone. You need a competent OKC DUI defense lawyer on your side. Here are some things to know about DUI in Oklahoma City.

Agreeing to tests

Oklahoma follows the implied consent rule when it comes to DUI matters. The police officer has the right to ask you to go for a breathalyzer test, and if you refuse, there are consequences, but primarily, your driving license would be suspended. The officer may also ask you to go for SFSTs, known as Standardized Field Sobriety Tests. These tests are often subjective and inaccurate, and you have the right to refuse that.

Be careful of what you say

Whether you are stopped by the police or are being arrested, do not say anything. You have the right to “remain silent”, and anything you say could go in favor of the prosecution. Keep quiet, and don’t discuss the case with your friends or family either. The only person who should know each and every detail is your attorney.

You don’t have to be driving

Even when you are found in a position where you are in the driver’s seat with the keys in your hand and the police officer suspects you are drunk, you could be arrested after the due procedure. In other words, you don’t have to be driving to be charged with DUI – if you are in physical control of the vehicle, you will likely face similar circumstances.

Understand the penalties

A first-time DUI conviction in Oklahoma could mean up to one year in jail and fines of up to $1,000. For a second offense, you may have to spend up to five years in prison with penalties of up to $2,500. A third offense could mean up to ten years in jail and fines of up to $5,000. Remember that you will also face an administrative case, which could mean losing your license. The legal implications are likely to be more severe for those who have a commercial license.

Call a DUI lawyer when you are arrested to prepare your defense – Legal support is paramount in such circumstances.

You may also like